Strawberry picking

I took my children strawberry picking.  We’ve been eight times already.  I estimate we’ve eaten close to forty-five pounds of strawberries since the season started about a month ago.  And why not?

Fresh sun ripe strawberries seem downright decadent. The fields at Lilley Farms, our favorite U-Pick, are loaded this year.  We have our pick of plump juicy berries, red all the way through.  There’s no need to add sugar when the berries are, to quote my eight year old “luscious.”

Hope for continued indulgence appeared a numerous tiny green berries, hidden among dark green leaves.  Our last pick was bitter-sweet. Mixed in with all the beautiful berries were ones that rotted on the vine. The sight of uneaten berries saddened me.  Someone missed enjoying their deliciousness.  I’ll do my best to prevent other strawberries from meeting the same fate.

What’s your favorite u-pick?

Our beautiful bounty

Leave a Reply

