Cheap Thrills

For the second weekend in a row, I’m trying my best to resist the siren’s call.  There’s an estate sale within walking distance of my house and a balloon festooned sign announcing the sale in my yard.  This is a problem because I love estate sales.

Unlike the humble garage sale, which can be a great place to find bargains, the estate sale allows me to enter the home of a stranger and peruse their furnishing in situ. Even without the personal knickknacks often claimed by family members, the estate sale offers a glimpse into how other people lived.  What furniture did this collector of depression era glass prefer?  What did they read? And where did they sit while reading?  And there is the problem, for me anyway.

I have the bad habit of buying chairs. My garage is a testimony to my love of chairs old and new.  I try to only walk to estate sales since driving makes it much easier to load up on chairs. It wasn’t that long ago that I managed to drag home a pair of blue leather mid-century twentieth century chairs that I scored for $45.  They are really comfortable.  Perfect for kids and grown-ups alike, which is a rare feature to find.

I’m trying my best to stay on my work chair today, which is a lovely red sparkle retro-diner chair. But it’s hard to forget the twenty-dollar bill in my wallet and the desire to have an adventure.  If I’m slow answering email today, you’ll know why.

What’s your estate sale addiction? Tell me and I’ll keep an eye out for you.

Leave a Reply

