Escape with me

Escape with me into a moment from Winter Fairy.  Early in writing the story of Carson and Penelope, the romance could have unfolded anywhere. I had no setting until they went to the Art Institute of Chicago. No other museum or city would do.  Penelope takes Carson and his daughter Eloise to a Degas special exhibit. As they walk to the cafe, Carson pauses to look at the striking piece that is one of my favorite escapes.

I first visited the Art Institute of Chicago on a school field trip in fifth or sixth grade.  My mother chaperoned. As our docent guided us through the maze of hallways, my mother pulled me aside and whispered, “That’s a Chagall.”

I fell in love. I fell hard and fast for the myriad blues, askew cities and figures untethered by gravity. The more I looked, the more I saw and further I fell into Chagall’s world.

Over the years, I have spent hours looking at Chagall’s America Windows, getting lost and escaping to a world I cannot physically visit. I could write at length about the meaning and significance of Chagall’s work, but I don’t want to. I’d rather imagine myself in front of the America Windows escaping to a world where people and dreams can fly.

Be sure to comment below for a chance to win the Eloise Fairy made by Sweet Baby James Stitches and one of three gift cards being offered as part of the Crimson Wonderland Blog Hop.  To be considered for the gift cards, please include your email in name(at)provider(dot)com format.  Remember, the more authors you visit, the more chances you have to win.

UPDATE: Congratulations to Beckey!  She’s the lucky winner of the Eloise Fairy.

31 thoughts on “Escape with me

  1. I remember visiting the Chicago Art Institute and always wanting to go back with my husband but alas, we’ve never been to Chicago together. We keep talking about making a trip – we need to do it and CAI is a must stop. Lovely picture.

  2. Can I just say the fairy is way too cute. I am happy that I have come across you through this blog hop.

  3. My favorite escape is any book that can take me away from real life even just for a short while.

    vampiremistress2010(at)gmail(dot)com

  4. What a great giveaway! I love reading to escape and enjoy all YA or Adult romances and paranormal!
    kacidesigns AT yahoo DOT com

  5. Lola,
    What a great giveaway! Very creative.

    It was interesting hearing how you did your reseach for Winter Fairy. Sounds like it was an enjoyable experience.
    I like to see in my mind’s eye the people, surroundings, and emotions. I know I’m engaged when I can’t put the book down until I’m done. The story has to have all the elements of a good story to hook me. If not, I feel cheated. I’m an avid reader and know the good, bad, and the ugly….

    Thanks for the opportunity to meet you, explore your site and writing.
    Belinda G
    belgre AT Comcast DOT net

Leave a Reply

