Casting Finnick: The Hunger Games

I’m an unabashed fan of Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games series.  I hoped like crazy “they” wouldn’t ruin the book when turning it into a film and was pleased the first movie turned out so well.  I loved the casting of Woody Harrelson as Haymitch.  When I read the book, he played the role in the movie in my mind.

Finnick and Katniss I mean Claflin and Lawrence

I am more nervous about the upcoming Catching Fire, and I’m not alone. It comes down to the casting of Finnick.  When I read the book, I could come up with no real life equivalent.  In my mind, he was a cross between Adonis and a much younger Neptune.  Finnick is such a terrific character overall not because of the swagger that comes from being the most desired hunk in Panam, but because of his heart.  I read the recent Entertainment Weekly article featuring Finnick’s portrayer Sam Claflin with skepticism, wondering if there really is anyone out there with “Finnick-ness.”

Then, a few days ago, as I was cleaning up the DVR scheduler and removed Amazing Race 21 from the line-up, I had an epiphany.  Finnick may not be as far removed from humanity as I first thought.

Jaymes and James

Throughout the Amazing Race 21, Chippendale Jaymes Vaughan proved you can have a hot body, a playful sense of humor and a big heart.  I may have a bit of a crush, which you can read in the same tone Jaymes used when said he may have seen a hard hat or two working at Chippendales.  No offense to Sam Claflin, but I’ve found my Finnick.   Who is yours?

One thought on “Casting Finnick: The Hunger Games

Leave a Reply

