Posted in company, Crimson Romance, Environment, Guests

Happy Earth Day (with guests)

I’m a nature loving girl, as is my daughter and my mother.  I think we inherited our love from my Grandfather, who was a steward of the earth long before Earth Day made us more aware of the special place we live.

To  honor Earth Day I invited a couple of friends to share some ideas on how to take care of our planet.  Please welcome Kenyatta Copeland, project manager with Jordan and Burke an environmental consulting firms that specializes in watershed restoration, and her husband, Malcolm Patterson, Senior Project Manager with H20 Environmental. H20 also specializes in watershed restoration, water quality planning and regulatory compliance.  I first met them in Synithia Williams’ You Can’t Plan Love.  Even though I’m convinced the heat between them is partially responsible for global warming, I couldn’t think of anyone better to take over my blog for a day.  Without further ado, may I present Kenyetta and Malcolm.

Kenyatta: Lola invited us here on Earth Day to talk small steps you can take to celebrate Earth Day every day.

Malcolm: One of the reasons I work on environmental initiatives is because I’m an avid fisherman. I see firsthand the impact of pollution on waterways and I like the challenge that comes with finding ways to protect a resource I use.

Kenyatta: And I like making a difference in my community and seeing results first hand. But you don’t have to work at an environmental firm to make a difference. Making small changes in your daily life can not only improve water quality, but have multiple environmental benefits.

Malcolm: For example, switching from a gas mower to an electric mower not only prevents the possibility of leaks and spills during oil changes that can be washed into the storm drain and ultimately our local waterways, but it also reduces air pollution.

Kenyatta: Conserving water in your home saves this valuable resource, and reduces the amount of energy needed by water providers to treat and supply water.

Lola: Reading between the lines, does that mean sharing a shower is good for the planet?

[Awkward pause.  Kenyetta blushes.  Malcolm clears his throat.]

Malcolm: My job requires lots of travelling, so carpooling with co-workers saves gas and reduces air pollution. I also make a habit to book hotels that offer environmental services such as recycling for their guests.

Kenyatta: I love going out to eat with my girlfriends, so looking for restaurants that serve local food is something we do to not only support local businesses, but gives me assurance my food is fresher since it wasn’t shipped halfway across the country.

And since Malcolm also can’t cook, we eat out a lot but never sit in the drive through line. It’s faster to go inside and it reduces pollution from our vehicles idling.

Malcolm: I though this interview was about Earth Day, not my lack of culinary skills.

Kenyatta: Sorry, baby, just making another “green” point.

Malcolm: Because I love you, I’ll let it slide. I hope you enjoyed our simple tips on ways that you can go green.

Kenyatta: We wanted to touch on things you may not have considered before and hopefully our information gave you something to think about. You can learn more green tips at http://earth911.com/, and the Environmental Protection Agency’s Earth Day Page http://www.epa.gov/earthday.

Thanks, Lola, for having us hang here today and spread our green message. Maybe next time Malcolm can sing the Captain Planet theme song.

Malcolm: You had to bring that up, didn’t you?

Kenyatta: Only because I love you.

Lola: Awwwww. Thank you both for coming and sharing some great ideas with us. Next time I’ll figure out how to imbed songs.  Malcolm’s singing is something I want to hear.

You can get to know Kenyetta and Malcolm in You Can’t Plan Love by Synithia Williams

Knowing firsthand the heartbreak that comes when desire and emotion rule a relationship, Kenyatta Copeland assumes marrying Brad Johnson will lead to a safe and secure life. But as much as she believes she can plan her future, it’s hard to ignore the way her boss, Malcolm Patterson, ignites her passions with just one look.

After Malcolm learns of her engagement, he makes a play for her heart and reminds her that passion between a man and a woman has its perks… but also its costs. When Brad confirms his suspicion that there’s more than work between Kenyatta and Malcolm, he devises a sinister plan to keep Kenyatta by his side.

Torn between her promise to marry Brad and her irrepressible longing for Malcolm, Kenyatta must decide if she can live her life in a passionless marriage of convenience or once again trust her heart. Yet Brad does not intend to let her go easily, and by the time she realizes the depths of his treachery, it may be too late.

Synithia Williams is also the author of Worth the Wait and the forthcoming Heart to Heal.  You can find her books at Amazon, B&N, and more.

Author:

where the heart finds a home

6 thoughts on “Happy Earth Day (with guests)

  1. Lola, wha an exellent way to commemorate Earth Day. Kenyatta & Malcolm, you had several easy tips that I hadn’t thought of and I can incorporate them quickly into my life. But folks, you’re on a romance author’s blog–you’ve gotta include the sharing a shower tip! 😀

Leave a Reply

