Posted in Crimson Romance, Guests, Reading, Writing

Talking with Heather Thurmeier

Hi Heather, thanks for stopping by today.  Tell me a bit about your Reality TV Romance Series.

There are three books and each takes place during the filming of a different show.  Each book was inspired by one of my favorite reality TV shows. The first, Falling for You, was inspired by The Bachelor/ette. The second, Stuck on You, was inspired by The Amazing Race. The third, Lost Without You, was inspired by Survivor.

Terrific picks all of them.  I’m slightly obsessed with the Amazing Race.  James and Jaymes will be appearing in my future books. So, I’m curious, how did these real life reality TV shows influence your novels?

When I created the characters for each book, I thought about the different characters and relationships I’ve watched on TV over the years. Some I’ve loved, some I’ve hated, some I couldn’t figure out why they were the way they were. But each of them left a lasting impression on me long after the shows ended. And that was exactly what I wanted my fictional characters to do too! Some of my favorite characters were people like Boston Rob and Amber, Mike Boogie and Dr. Will, Flight Time and Big Easy and so, so many more! I always love seeing the father/daughter, Mother/son combos! I love the best friends and coworkers who take on the challenge of going on a show together. And I LOVE the showmances that blossom spontaneously when contestants are thrown together into the isolation of a show for weeks.

Boston Rob created such a great TV persona.  I’ve always wonder what he is like in real life.  I met Flight Time a few years ago and he is just as charming in person.  And I love watching the different group dynamics and how those dynamics change under pressure. How about you?

I was also inspired by the crazy challenges contestants are expected to take part in on these shows. Each one makes their contestants do something so completely out of their comfort zone that it’s almost cringe-worthy watching them try to attempt it. Anything from obstacle courses, to eating disgusting things that should never be consumed, to daring walks across tightropes or even bungee jumping. When I wrote the challenge in these series, I thought back to all of those competitions I’d seen on TV before. I tweaked, twisted, and manipulated them until they were something original and unique, but each still feels familiar and completely plausible as something you really would watch on TV! I had so much fun… too much fun… thinking up these challenges and forcing my characters to take part!

They’re fun to read, too.

Thank you. Some of my favorite challenges happen on Survivor. They always seem to have the most elaborate setups for the contestants to conquer. I love their obstacle courses and swimming challenges the most. In Lost Without You, I definitely touched on those as part of my contestant’s challenges. After being the ‘creator’ of a reality TV show in a series of novels, I can only imagine how much fun the development team on real reality TV shows have when they’re thinking up and designing challenges for the upcoming season! I think I would love that job!!

It would be, but I wouldn’t want to be the one to test all those challenges.  There have been a few I watched through my eyelids. 

So who were some of your favorite characters? What are some of your favorite moments in reality TV? I’d love to hear about them in the comments!

Thank you so much for having me today!

~Heather Thurmeier

“Heather Thurmeier’s hunky heroes and feisty heroines will have you laughing out loud, falling in love … and coming back for more!” ~ Carly Phillips, NY Times Bestselling Author

“Heather Thurmeier writes sweet, funny romances that capture your heart!” –NYT and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Probst

Website: http://heatherthurmeier.com

Facebook: HeatherThurmeierAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/hthurmeier

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5211580.Heather_Thurmeier

Heather Thurmeier is a lover of strawberry margaritas, a hater of spiders and a reality TV junkie. She was born and raised in the Canadian prairies, but now lives in New York with her husband and kids where she’s become some kind of odd Canuck-Yankee hybrid. When she’s not busy taking care of the kids and pets, Heather’s writing her next romance, which will probably be filled with sassy heroines, sexy heroes that make your heart pound, laugh out loud moments and always a happily ever after. You can find out more about Heather and her books by checking out her website at: http://heatherthurmeier.com.

LOST WITHOUT YOU blurb:

Zoe Oliver never wanted to be on another reality TV show . . . until Chip Cormack made an offer too good to refuse. He’s guaranteed her a payday this time and a chance to redeem herself in America’s eyes. But Zoe worries she won’t be able to focus as her desire for Chip grows and her strength to resist him weakens. When she learns she’ll be roughing it in the woods with Chip and without luxuries like indoor plumbing and electricity, she’s instantly on edge, feeling naked and terrified that her scars will be exposed and her secrets revealed. When Zoe’s past turns up on the show, she fears she’ll lose not only the life she’s sacrificed everything else to have, but also the affections of the only man she’s ever trusted with her heart.

Amazon buy link: http://ow.ly/m9fUF

Author:

where the heart finds a home

2 thoughts on “Talking with Heather Thurmeier

Leave a Reply

