Talking with Tamara Hughes

Today I’m welcoming Tamara Hughes to talk about Once upon a Masquerade, her debut novel from Entangled Publishing.

onceuponamasqueradeI love the color palette of this cover and what a tag line. Want to meet a Cinderella with a secret? Read on.

New York City, 1883

A Prince Charming meets his match…

Self-made shipping magnate Christopher Black first spies Rebecca Bailey at a masquerade ball and is captivated by her refreshing naiveté and sparkling beauty. She’s a stark contrast to the hollow behavior of the ton and the guile of his former fiancée, but the closer he gets to her secrets, the further she pushes him away.

A Cinderella with a secret…

Rebecca is drawn to the charismatic Christopher from the first, but she cannot risk him discovering that she is really a housemaid impersonating an heiress. Her father’s life depends on it.

A Happily Ever After that could never be…

When Christopher’s investigation of the murder of his best friend leads him straight to Rebecca, he fears his ingénue may be a femme fatale in disguise.  Now he must decide if he can trust the woman he’s come to love, or if her secrets will be his downfall.

*****

Tamara, what inspired you to write this book?

I’ve always loved Cinderella stories – a woman who manages to rise from an awful situation, and ends up with her happy ending. But I wanted to add a twist or two to make it a little more fun. Like a murder mystery. So why not have my Cinderella in the middle of it? The prime suspect.

And to add a little humor, I like my heroines to be very human. In this story, Cinderella is a little clumsy and socially awkward. (A lot like me I’m sorry to say – only I’m more than a little clumsy.) So when this Cinderella sneaks into a ball to meet her Prince Charming, she’s bound to make mistakes.

A ball scene? There must be music. Do you listen to music when you write?  If so, what?

It depends. I find my writing process changes for each book. For most of my books, including this one, I wrote in silence. Sometimes my plots are pretty intense, so I need all my focus on keeping everything straight to weave it all together as tightly as I can. That said, my current work-in-progress is a whole other deal. I’m finding I get inspiration to write from listening to music. My music selection is pretty eclectic, from pop songs to heavy metal. (I’m currently writing a paranormal.) Some of the songs include: Clarity by Zedd, I’m Not a Vampire by Falling in Reverse, Say It by Evans Blue, and Rescue Me by Kerrie Roberts.

Wow, do I feel out of touch.  Looks like I’ll be busy on Spotify later.  What is your favorite part about being an author?

I love sitting down to write. Don’t get me wrong. I find writing really hard – some days impossible. But there’s something about bringing a scene to life on paper that’s amazing. And days when I can make myself laugh, those are really great.

Those are perfect writing days. Since we’re not writing now, let’s play “Dump the purse” – what’s in yours? 

Hmm. Let’s see…all the usual suspects…wallet, Kleenex, lotion…band aids because I’m a mom (even if my kids are teenagers now), a little notebook in case an idea strikes, enough change to choke a horse, the dimensions of my living room lampshades (which I intend to replace someday, maybe – that note’s been in there so long, the ink is starting to blur). Wow. Now I feel boring. Thanks for asking this question, Lola. Ha!

That was productive at least. Let’s have some fun. My kids built a time machine out of Legos.  When and where are we headed and why? 

First of all, wow! Your kids are amazing!  (Blush – yes, they are.) As for the when and where, I was amazed by what I found researching New York City in the 1800’s. You read very few books about this time and place, and I’m not sure why.

In Once Upon a Masquerade, I write about a large masquerade ball hosted by William and Alva Vanderbilt to celebrate the completion of their home. That event actually happened in history. The New York Times had written about it, describing the costumes, the house, the dancing. The article really got my imagination going. In fact, the Hobby-horse Quadrille described in the book was an actual dance performed by guests, dressing up as horses and riders and romping around the room.  I hope you found illustrations! The party sounds amazing.

And while it doesn’t occur during the book, the Brooklyn Bridge’s grand opening also happened in 1883, with fireworks exploding over the water. Crazy, but one week later, a woman tripped on a narrow staircase on the bridge, falling into a large group of people. Someone screamed the bridge was collapsing, which caused a panic that led to twelve people being trampled to death.

Thomas Edison also made great strides in the use of electricity for lighting in 1883. He built a central generating station and lit a small town in New Jersey.

All in 1883. Not to mention a few years later, the Statue of Liberty was unveiled.

Gee, can you tell I’m excited about this stuff?

I sure can and now I’m excited too.  What a fascinating time and place and you’re right, it’s one we don’t often encounter in books even though it was a terrific time of sweeping societal changes and extravagance.  Thinking of which, dessert time!  Give me your “either—or” answers

  • Chocolate, fruit or other? Depends on my mood. Fruit is yummy, but chocolate is a need sometimes, not just a want. Oh, dark chocolate…definitely dark chocolate…  And it’s so good for you… So good… I may have to go get some now.
  • Warm or cold? Warm inside, cold outside – I live in Minnesota doncha know.
  • Buttercream or fondant? Buttercream, no contest. Does fondant even have much flavor? It’s pretty, but buttercream, now that has flavor…Mmm, buttercream… You’re making me do it again… I’ll be right back.
  • Cookies or brownies? Cookies – gooey, thick chocolate chip…or monster cookies…those are good too. Oh, what I’d do for a cookie.
  • With nuts or without? Depends on what dessert you’re talking about, if you know what I mean. Wink. Wink. Nudge. Nudge.

And now I’m blushing again.  Thanks for stopping by Tamara.

You can get Once upon a Masquerade at:onceuponamasquerade

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Once-Upon-Masquerade-Entangled-Scandalous-ebook/dp/B00HP1JZNU/ref=cm_cr_pr_pb_t

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/once-upon-a-masquerade-tamara-hughes/1117987586

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/Search/Query?q=Once+Upon+a+Masquerade

iBookstore: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/once-upon-a-masquerade/id792453836?mt=11

About the author: A small town girl with a big imagination, Tamara Hughes had no idea what to do with her life. After graduating from college, she moved to a big city, started a family and a job, and still struggled to find that creative outlet she craved. An avid reader of romance, she gave writing a try and became hooked on the power of exploring characters, envisioning adventures, and creating worlds. She enjoys stories with interesting twists and heroines who have the grit to surmount any obstacle, all without losing the ability to laugh. To learn more, stop by her website: www.tamarahughes.com. You can also find her on:

Facebook: www.facebook.com/tamarahughesauth

Twitter: www.twitter.com/TamHughes

Goodreads: www.goodreads.com/author/show/7738043.Tamara_Hughes

Amazon Author Page: www.amazon.com/author/tamarahughes

If you’re feeling really lucky, Tamara is offering a $25 Amazon gift card (U.S. only) and 3 copies of Once Upon a Masquerade (international) as part of her blog tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

For additional chances to win, check out the full schedule:

http://www.entangledinromance.com/2014/02/07/once-upon-a-masquerade-blog-tour/

4 thoughts on “Talking with Tamara Hughes

Leave a Reply

