Posted in Books, Reading

Does size matter?

Some romance writing friends and I recently tackled the question, does size matter?

Get your mind out of the gutter – we were discussing books and  reading preferences.  I consider myself an equal opportunity reader.  Shorter books help me feel more productive as a reader and fit easier in my purse.  I tend to buy more short works as ebooks.

I prefer a paper book for longer works. For one thing, I can flip back pages easier if I’ve lost track of the narrative thread. When a book takes me over 8 days to read, this can happen. Also, I can use post it flags to mark passages I love, maps or casts of characters.

There is a real artistry in both forms. As much as I love Stephen King and Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series, well written short novels loom large in my mind.  James Joyce’s Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Franz Kafka’s Metamorphosis, Jennifer Johnston’s haunting and hard to find Fool’s Sanctuary, and anything Ray Bradbury. I could go on, but I won’t. Short books have taught me the value of brevity.

What do you prefer reading? Why? Any suggestions?

Author:

where the heart finds a home

2 thoughts on “Does size matter?

  1. I like a mix of sizes. For travel (plane or train), I prefer paperback. For car trips around town, I like to have a paperback of short stories for those long waits at a Dr office or while my significant other is ahopping. However, at home while relaxing in my easy chair, I like the heft (and slightly large size) of a “real” book. A real book is also easier to find in the clutter of mail, computers, newspapers, magazines, and bags of candy and snacks that surround my little nest.

  2. I do love the weight of a real book. And your point about the ease of finding is especially valid for library books. My fines are consistently higher for smaller books that hide under envelopes or stuffed animals than for the larger ones.

Leave a Reply

