Posted in Books, Talking with

Talking with Tessa Berkley

Today I’m welcoming author and friend Tessa Berkley to the blog to learn more LordHeartless200 (2)about her newest release, from Decadent Publishing, Lord Heartless.

Lord Heartless is a bit of a departure for you. What inspired you to write it?

I’ve always been a fan of history. I grew up watching the historical drama’s on Masterpiece Theater. In the past few years, I’ve become addicted to Downtown Abbey. So when I decided to write a historical other than a western, it seemed quite natural to pick the Victorian age.

Now that I know your viewing habits, what types of books do you enjoy reading? What is on your nightstand?

I enjoy contemporaries, western and ranch themed books, as well as historical novels. I have read a few paranormals, but I’m not really into shape shifters. Currently on my night stand are three books, Marin Thomas’ The Cowboy’s Destiny, Kristin Higgins Waiting on You, and Hope Ramsey’s Inn at Last Chance. The one real rule I have, is that if I am writing in a certain genre, I won’t read that genre until I’m finished. So looking at what is on my night stand, you can tell I’m working on a historical. :o)

Unless you’re shifting into paranormal. (Yup, that’s giggling you hear). Tell me about your favorite place to write. What makes it special?

My favorite place to write is sitting in my huge comfy chair by the windows, away from the television. I can so easily be distracted. So when its writing time, I’m away from the stimulation and can concentrate on what my characters are saying. I will admit, the best place for me to plot is in the tub. It’s one of the few places I can go and be alone. The down side of this, is by the time I’m finished bathing, the ideas may have scattered.

When will someone invent a completely waterproof notebook? They have water proof speakers. Thinking of which, do you listen to music when you write?

I love Broadway musicals. Lord Heartless was written listening to Richard Burton and Julie Andrew’s version of Camelot. Other songs on my playlist are: The Band Perry, Luke Bryant, Justin Lynch, Brooks and Dunn, and Zac Brown Band. I just loaded Tim McGraw’s latest the other day. It’s giving me loads of ideas to work with.

Ideas are good, so how do you make time to write?

Making time to write is very important. It’s one of the best things a writer can do for themselves. Try to make it happen the same time every day. Just like your job, you have to sign in to work. Many of us are not able to spend 6 to 10 hours a day writing. The everyday mountain of bills sitting on my desk attests to this. I will write early in the morning. Rising, getting that cup of tea and sitting down with my notebook to put down ideas I need or want to cover. Then when I get off work and after the dishes are done, I don my writer’s hat and hit the chair. It’s not always easy but I do my best to spend a few hours working each day on MY job. We all know that no book can be written if we don’t sit down and write.

Amen. I hope  you find more time to work in the coming months. In the meantime, where can readers find you?

Tessa Berkley Bio

Tessa Berkley lives on a small five acre farm in Tidewater, Virginia. A graduate of Old Dominion University, she spends her time herding her grandchildren and spoiling her pets. She loves to hear from readers.

Website: http://tessaberkley.wix.com/tessaberkleyromance

Email: tessaberkley@yahoo.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/tessa.berkley.7

Twitter: https://twitter.com/tessa_berkley

LordHeartless200 (2)Lord Heartless

An arranged marriage may be the death of Lord Landon Montague, who has earned his rude moniker, Lord Heartless, through the distaste of the Ton. When he makes plans to collect on a debt from Lord Charles Gilbert by foreclosing on Holly Grove, Gilbert commits suicide. Only then does Lord Montague learn that Lord Gilbert has left a nineteen-year-old daughter, Juliet, at his mercy.

Lady Juliet Gilbert has suffered the stigma of suicide as best she could. But losing her home and the servants who have raised her and stood by through her father’s drinking would be the last straw. Unable to secure a position, Lord Montague’s offer of marriage gives her hope. All she must do is produce an heir. But arriving at Broadmoor proves more taxing than she anticipated for her dark Lord already holds an heir conceived out of wedlock.

Will this doom any hope of finding happiness and label him forever Lord Heartless, or will London’s society have its last laugh on Shakespeare when Montague wins his fair Juliet?

To purchase your copy of Lord Heartless please use the links below.

 Amazon  

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/lord-heartless-tessa-berkley/1118922631?ean=2940149278022

https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-lordheartless-1452847-148.html

Author:

where the heart finds a home

2 thoughts on “Talking with Tessa Berkley

Leave a Reply

