Posted in Books, Talking with

Talking with Linnea Alexis

Today I’m welcoming fellow Decadent author Linnea Alexis to answer the tough questions and share her newest release, Lost and Found.

  1. What inspired you to write Lost and Found?linneaAlexislost

Author, Louisa Bacio, is a friend, and she told me about Decadent Publishing’s call for submissions for their Beyond Fairytales line. Twisting a fairytale appealed to me, so I accepted the challenge. I was assigned Grimm’s The Stolen Farthings, but was unfamiliar with the story. When I read the fairytale, I got excited because it was a ghost story. And I love anything paranormal!  A couple of things about the plot stood out: money was stolen and hidden by a child ghost only the narrator could see; and, redemption motivated the ghost to reveal (to the narrator) where the money was hidden. Lost and Found was a hoot to write. The challenge was to stay as true as possible to original fairytale’s message.

  1. What types of books do you enjoy reading? What is on your nightstand?

I read everything. Right now, on my Kindle, I’m enjoying Decadent’s Beyond Fairytales books. The stories are imaginative, quick reads, and it is such fun to see what authors have done with their assigned fairytales.  [They are fun!]

Gail Barrett’s romantic suspense Buried Secrets series is on my nightstand. I’m currently reading book two, A Kiss to Die For. Book three in the series, Seduced by his Target, is in my “to be read” pile, along with Lori Wilde’s All Out of Love.

  1. Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what?

If I hit a wall, I listen to the Pink Floyd classic, “Comfortably Numb.” Somehow, that song never fails to re-charge my batteries. But if I want to capture a specific mood for my story, I search for music that fits the scene I’m working on.

During Lost and Found, I wanted fun music when Eli and Haley were in the restaurant. A dance club was in the adjoining room and when disco music drifted into the restaurant, Eli coaxed Haley next door, and onto the dance floor. Disco reminded me of the Bee Gee’s Saturday Night Fever. When “More than a Woman” played, Eli realized how much he cared for Haley. Ever since he met her ten years ago, she always was “More than a woman” to him.

When they returned to their motel room, he turned on an easy listening music station. Realizing this might be their only night together, he feared he’d lose her again (as he had ten years ago).  To capture the mood, I needed slow, sexy, seductive music. “Need you now” by Lady Antebellum, and “Desperado” by The Eagles filled the bill. Both songs revealed his heart to her…and she was his.

I love these musical choices.  Some songs really set the scene.

  1. What is your favorite part about being an author?

Creating a story from a thought, an idea, a word, or a song. I love when a story flows. But editing the rough draft, although difficult, is what is really rewarding. There’s no greater high than when all the elements of the story come together.

  1. Let’s play “Dump the purse” – what’s in yours?

You don’t want to know! My purse is a repository for sales receipts, tissues, and ink pens—I’ve had as many as eleven pens in my purse at one time. I’m constantly cleaning it out.

Once I left the house without a comb in my already stuffed purse. When I looked in the mirror I was devastated to see my hair in such a state of disarray. I couldn’t ask to borrow someone else’s comb, but I found a plastic fork and used it as a hair pick. From that day on, I keep two combs in my purse at all times. And I wouldn’t go anywhere without concealer, eyebrow pencil, or hair spray.

I also keep a small flashlight tucked inside. You never know when you’ll need to find something in the depths of your purse.

A flashlight is a must and I refuse to be caught without a pen.

  1. If your hero or heroine were babysitting my kids (age 6 & 10) what would the night be like?

My hero, Eli, comes from a large Italian family so he’s comfortable around kids. Actually, he’s still a big kid himself. With your consent, he’d probably order pizza and join in whatever games your kids were playing. He likes all sports, video games, and puzzles. Haley, my heroine, is a girly-girl, so she’d be right at home playing with dolls or sitting in on a tea party. But she’s no pushover when it comes to puzzles and could kick Eli’s butt any day of the week at Scrabble or Words with Friends.

Right before the kids’ appointed bedtime, Eli and Haley would bring down the noise level. Your kids would change into their PJ’s and brush their teeth. Realizing it might be hard to get the youngsters to sleep, Eli would gather them in the TV room, start a kids’ video, turn the lights down, and wait for the kids to fall asleep.

They’re hired.

  1. We’re at a bar with your hero and heroine, what are they drinking?

Drinking with Eli, he would order top shelf of whatever you’re drinking. Not to impress you, but he truly wants people to enjoy themselves and tries to give them the best of what’s being offered.

Because Haley prefers wine, he’d order a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon to share with her. And he’d pick up the tab for everyone, of course.

  1. Dessert time! Give me your “either—or” answers
  • Chocolate, fruit or other? Chocolate, especially dark chocolate
  • Warm or cold? Warm
  • Buttercream or fondant? Fondant
  • Cookies or brownies? Brownies!
  • With nuts or without?   Nuts, of course. Actually, my favorite dessert is brownies with nuts.

I think I’m developing a crush Eli. Before you go, tell me more about Lost and Found and where to find it.

Lost and Found

linneaAlexislostAfter Haley Monroe’s estranged husband drops dead, she discovers he’d left her with a whole lot of debt. Too bad the only person who can help sort through the mess and clear her name is her late husband’s attorney, her only one-night stand, and a man she never thought she’d see again.

Attorney Eli Libertini jumps at the chance to help Haley clear up the financial mess. He’d like nothing more than to reconnect with his hookup from spring break ten years ago—the woman he’s never been able to forget.    Thrown together in a dark fairytale adventure, the twosome uncovers a web of hidden heirlooms, ghostly encounters and mysterious storage units about to be auctioned. They’ll have to forget the past in order to regain their once shared passion and have a future.

Buy Links:

Decadent Publishing: http://bit.ly/1xuq7j2               All Romance eBooks: http://bit.ly/1HYikg5

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1txEYLf                                  Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1B0SIyI

About Linnea Alexis:

Linnea Alexis stopped stirring up trouble in the corporate world a few years ago and now satisfies her appetite for mayhem in the fictional world. When she isn’t working on one of her romances, she writes cozy horror stories. She can usually be found hanging out with her family in Southern California. She has published several short stories in various anthologies, and she’s an active member of Orange County Chapter of Romance Writers of America and O.C. Writers.

Author:

where the heart finds a home

4 thoughts on “Talking with Linnea Alexis

Leave a Reply

