First Friday Five – Rediscovering #Inspiration

I’m in a writing slump. I finished a couple of projects shortly before breaking my elbow in January, but new words have eluded me. Part of the blame falls to the accident and side effects of chronic pain and medication. Part of the blame falls to me and the bad habits I have developed to cope with said pain.

Today is the last day of school for my kids. I don’t usually work on new projects when they are underfoot but I do edit. This summer, however, I’m committing to rediscovering creativity. Here are five ways.

1. Coloring. My daughter’s learning about Mandalas in school. The other day she declared “Fifteen minutes of coloring a day makes you more relaxed and smarter.” I’m not sure about the science behind her statement, but here’s an article on Huffington Post  that supports coloring.

2. Attend a classical concert. I’m fortunate that my town sponsors a free concert in the park series. Even better, the world-class Minneapolis Orchestra performs one of those nights. Hearing music under the stars is magical.

3. Get moving. I borrowed my daughter’s bike a few weeks ago and took my first ride in over a decade. I didn’t forget how to ride, but I had forgotten the amazing sensory rush of the air against my skin and the way the sun warmed my t-shirt. The extra oxygen helped too.

4. Play more games, especially ones like Pictionary, Bananagrams, Moose in the House, and Charades, all of which guarantee laughter in my house. I can’t forget #hashtag games on twitter.

5. Travel somewhere new. I live in the Land of 10,000 Lakes and I’ve been to maybe 20.  I find a change of scenery, no matter how small, inspires me to see the world anew.

How do you foster creativity?

Leave a Reply

